Adivasi Munnetra Sangam

Adivasi Munnetra Sangam is an association of the 320 plus village Sangams that represent the 20,000 strong Adivasi population in Gudalur and Pandalur taluks, mostly from Paniya, Kattunaicken, Mullakurumba and Betakurumba tribes. Sangams refer to the village level groupings of people and were established as part of the Adivasi movement towards self reliance and against injustice which started in 1986 and continues till date.
AMS was officially formed on Dec 5th, 1988 at the end of a landmark rights march in Gudalur in which more than 10, 000 Adivasis participated. The march signalled the end to an era of suppression and fear and heralded the beginning of equality and empowerment. Since then, AMS has been at the forefront of all Adivasi issues and movements. Under AMS, more than a 1000 acres of lost Adivasi land has been reclaimed and redistributed and more than 50, 000 saplings of tea have been grown and provided for planting.
AMS also has a full time lawyer who ensures that legal support is no longer a distant dream for the Adivasis of Gudalur. AMS is actively engaged in working with the Government in order to ensure that basic amenities such as clean drinking water, roads, electricity etc are made available to the people and that the Adivasis of Gudalur are guaranteed access to all rights and benefits intended for them.
Presently AMS is focussing on promoting and supporting the 31 special Gram Sabhas that serve the Adivasis of Gudalur, working towards the implementation of the 2006 Forest Rights Act and conserving and propagating the unique culture and lifestyle of the Adivasi community.

List of Members
President – M. Kethan
Secretary – K.T Subramanian